The Tempest

It’s thunder season, and it’s been a little underwhelming so far. I hoped to have an exciting collection of storm photos by now, and needless to say, I’m really disappointed. But, being room-bound due to temporary overutilization of my bike and the associated muscles, and the lack of other reasons to go out, I managed to finish a track which has been a WIP since last year’s storm season.

It’s hard to find somebody who doesn’t like storms. Of course, there’s hardly any weather that isn’t at least occasionally one way or another pleasing when observed from the inside of a cozy home, but thunders are extreme, aren’t they?

How do I put this without sounding like a moron? You see, thunders are really weird. It’s by far the craziest weather. I get rain. I really do. Everyone does, the heat, the water going up, it cools down, etc., etc. Snow, sure, nothing complicated. Sounds absolutely natural, all of that, and I can see why they come and go and everything. But thunders? Hot air hits cold air and magic happens? Lightning flashing for hours and specifically aiming for the metal spikes? The heavy clouds in the sky, turning a bright summer day into what for all intents and purposes could very well be a night in a matter of minutes. Thunder is like the odd sibling of the bunch, the bunch being the weathers. Please don’t think I’m an idiot, I’m just excitable. I know how thunders work.

Choosing not to do any research, I wonder why thunders are so lovable. I’m sure they used to be a pain in the ass back in the day when people were pretty much subjects of the sovereign that the weather was when a rainy summer was not an inconvenience and a waste of vacation, but a determinant of whether you survive the winter or starve. But today we have the pleasure of enjoying every kind of weather to some extent.

The thing is, thunders aren’t useful or beneficial for us, they aren’t needed or waited for, but they are just exciting. I think it’s the child in every one of us and the child-like excitement. The lightning show has no purpose in our lives, it’s just fun. The heavy clouds just look cool. The wind is refreshing but otherwise useless. We can enjoy it because it’s… just enjoyable. I know I’m not the only one who thinks the same way. Some things are useless, and yet still awesome. Sounds obvious, but often it isn’t. Because we try to justify this appreciation of the mundane. And that’s unnecessary.

-Calmest Waters

 

Leave a Reply

