The overpass, the river, the cemetery, the church and the rain.

Alas, the god of rain didn’t accept my offering and hasn’t pissed off as requested. After a rainy, albeit still, as it turned out, relatively warm June, its more handsome, usually reliable brother, July, failed me completely. I tried to stay positive, but there’s no way around it – this month is a weather disaster. Fortunately, I have managed to use every opportunity it provides, and do the best I can every time. That’s why I decided to change the strategy, and instead of shorter, more aggressive¬†adventures, as originally planned, I started going for longer sightseeing trips, as each and every one of the sunny days we’ve been presented must be used to the fullest. And even though I try to plan my trips more than I usually like to, well, things have to go south eventually.

jeszcze jeden1.jpg

Part I: The overpass.

The first checkpoint I planned on visiting was the overpass over the nearby highway. Not that I am a fan of the architectural style of the overpass designers or the fine art of its builders. However, being located on a hill, it gives you the perspective difficult to find anywhere else in the area. It’s as high as you can get legally, on a bike. It used to be my favorite spot to stop for a mid-ride rest & thinking session. Well, it still is I suppose, but I don’t visit as often as I have before, mostly because I try to find new spots, of which there is plenty, I learned.

 

jeszcze jeden4.jpg

Sometimes the world just seems to smile to you.

 

A little thing about it that I particularly like, is the interactions I have with the drivers passing under on the highway. Every now and then, I get a horn signal and a very cheerful one too, or a wheelie/wave from motorcyclists. Apparently, they believe that I would enjoy, or find exciting how they notice me doing my things, and recognize me as the brother of the road. And you know what, they’re freaking right. It’s awesome, and I wave back to my brothers of the road. Because we’re brothers of the road, my dudes.

deszcz5.jpgAnother angle, another beautiful sight. The village in the distance isn’t the one that I live in, for the record. Mine is way prettier, and I will show it to you. But the view is rather marvelous, isn’t it? I like to think so.

jeszcze jeden a1.jpg

The journey’s just beginning.

 

Part II: The River

If there’s one good thing that came from the rainy summer we’re having, is that usually by this time of the year, the world is much more burned by the sun. The grass turns yellow, the shrub starts to dry out. Not a beautiful sight, but one I’m used to. This, however, this is something else, my friends.

deszcz7.jpg

This is the very river that acts as a stage for the silver lights festival, a few kilometers down the stream. I pass this bridge from which I took the photo almost every day of the summer but it’s difficult to enjoy the view from the car. For a long time I planned to visit that spot, and now I’m angry it took me so long to do so. Still, I can’t stay angry for too long with views like this one. And you know what’s the best part?

deszcz6

That’s right, there’s a freaking lake on the other side. Well, a lake, a pond, call it whatever you want. It’s there and it’s pretty.

Another important point: there’s a geocache in this village, one of three I planned on finding. Took some time, but I have succeeded. That’s what I do.

Onward.

 

Part III: The cemetery.

Granted, not a real cemetery, not anymore. It’s next to one, but this one is fake. I couldn’t find the correct word for this place in English. Basically, it’s the place where the gravestones from an old, no longer used cemetery or ones that have been discovered abandoned or damaged.

deszcz3.jpg

This place is worth visiting for two reasons. First, the atmosphere there is amazing, even though it’s not a very big place, and there aren’t that many gravestones there. I guess you just have to be “into that sort of thing”. What I mean by that, is, you know, these gravestones is all that remains after real, once-living people. Their descendants no longer live in this area, it’s possible they are completely forgotten by their families by now. So their all life’s legacy is this piece of rock. If you’re that one follower of mine who read my post about this feeling I’m describing right now, you know what I’m talking about (might I add, I don’t care how dumb it is to say, that was one of my best pieces, that post).

The other reason I visited, was the second geocache. This time it went really smoothly, although the hiding place was rather interesting. The location and the exact hiding place are the things that make it my favorite cache so far.

Satisfied, I headed for the exit. It was about then that I noticed heavy clouds lurking in the distance. But I read the weather forecast – no rain today. No worries, right?

 

Part IV: The church.

Me and God, we’re not on the best terms. But credit where credit’s due – his houses, the churches, have this weird, lovely aura around them. Most of the temples in my area are fairly old but in a relatively decent condition. Apart from the metal roof, which looks terrible, but maybe the Big Guy wants it that way? Who am I to judge?

 

deszcz1.jpg

It would be a dick move to make it rain now, God.

 

Anyway, the reason I went there was, you guessed it, a cache. Unfortunately, this time I failed. The terrain was tricky, the eyes of the town’s elders were upon me, and I didn’t want to cause a commotion, so my searches had to look natural. I like to think they did, but a failure is a failure.

 

deszcz2.jpg

I can’t decide which picture I like more.

 

You win this round…

Seventeen hours. That’s the longest break from the rain that we had in my area in three weeks. But of course, all good things must come to an end.

 

Part V: The rain

I found the shelter on a bus stop. I could only smile when I’ve read the “0% chance of rain today”, listening to the heavy drops hitting the leaking roof of the bus stop. What I judged to be a ten to twenty-minute long, passing drizzle turned out to be an hour long downpour. What did I do? The only thing I could. Took photos.

deszcz4.jpg

Had some time to think too. I realized that this break, the heavy rain, contributed in its own, special way to what in the end was a wonderful trip. For some reason, the rain made it seem like a complete journey. I was sitting there for an hour, listening to some music, watching cars passing by. On its own, it doesn’t sound fun at all. But as a summary of a whole day of biking, it was a power up and a rest at the same time.

It was a chill out I needed.

 

The conclusion.

Yup. It was awesome. All of it.

Hopefully, I’ll get the chance to party the same way soon.

Wanna join?

-Calmest Waters

 

Leave a Reply

